Treasure Chest

“Wait, why do you have that treasure chest?”

“Can I look inside it?”

“Where did you get that treasure chest?”

“Is that yours?”

“But why do you have it?”

All of these questions were asked within the first 5 minutes by the fifth graders from room 302. As they walked in, some spotted the treasure chest instantly. Once their eyes grasped onto it, they would not let it go.

 My grandpa had given my brother a treasure chest when he was younger and being the annoying little sister that I was, I had to have one just like him. On my 11th birthday, my wish (or demand) was granted and my grandpa had given me my own special treasure chest. For the longest time, it held my most prized possessions and collectibles in it. I loved organizing the belongings and clasping it shut. I loved, and still continue to do so, the details on it that make it look like a real treasure chest. It was always placed somewhere in my bedroom.

Now, this special treasure chest sits on the window sill of my classroom. The truth is, I’m running out of space in my place and wanted to get rid of it. I couldn’t toss it away because it holds a special place in my heart, so I decided to store it at school. The students and I are still brainstorming on ideas of how we can use it, but until then it just rests on the sill. I love knowing that it will still be used and I love the fact that it has a mysterious element to it. Honestly, nothing is in it but it’s still fun to imagine 🙂

4 comments

  1. jhaworthoy · March 2, 2015

    So glad that you took your treasure chest to your classroom. I am sure those fifth graders can think of many adventures involving it. It is so difficult to decide what we need to toss and what we need to keep when things get crowded at home. What better place than in your classroom!

    Like

  2. Katie · March 2, 2015

    I’m going to leave something in there for you some day! LOL!

    Like

    • ambogard · March 3, 2015

      Now I’m scared…

      Like

  3. Michelle N · March 3, 2015

    Oh…the possibilities. Just don’t put stickers in it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

